Dutch Baby Pancake for Two

IMG_0141

When I was 22 I moved from my hometown of San Diego to Seattle.  I had no job, no apartment and no friends.  It was one of the most thrilling times of my life.  I settled into a one bedroom apartment with a sliver of a view of Lake Union from the balcony and the start of many life lessons to learn.  Life lessons such as:  How not to be lonely when you live alone.  How to stash everything you don’t know what to do with in the hall closet.  And the ever popular, you no longer get to split expenses with two other people you really should learn how to budget.

While I had no idea what I was doing at the time (or arguably now), I did know that I wanted to learn how to cook.  I cornered my aunt in the kitchen during one of her visits and this was an easy recipe she had in her back pocket.  It’s perfect for late night carb cravings or an easy weekend breakfast with a special houseguest.  And almost 20 years later it still gives me a little thrill every time I pull one from the oven.  A big, sweet smelling, puffed up pancake.  What’s not to love?

Basic Dutch Baby
Serves 2 (or not going to lie, occasionally 1)

2T butter
3/4 c flour
3 eggs
3/4 c milk
1T sugar
Pinch of salt
Favorite pancake toppings

Place two tablespoons of butter in an oven safe pan (I use the same Pyrex pie plate I had in college) and set pan in oven.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  The butter will melt while the oven is preheating.

In a medium bowl whisk together flour, eggs, milk, sugar and salt until well combined.  There should not be any lumps.

Once the oven is done preheating and butter is melted, carefully (and with hot pads!) take the pan out of the oven.  Pour the batter into the hot pan and set back in the oven.  Bake for exactly 20 minutes.  Resist the temptation to open the oven!

After 20 minutes pull out your puffy pancake and make sure any houseguests are there for the flourish!  Don’t be disappointed when it slumps down after a minute or so.  That just means it’s ready to be sliced into wedges and topped with your favorite pancake toppings.

Leave a Reply

