Solo for $70: Week 5

IMG_0329

OMG we are finally getting somewhere!  My experiment of spending $70/week on food (for just me!  Which should totally be plenty!) has been a dismal failure to date.  But fail forward, right?  (That’s a thing, isn’t it?)

I’ve learned that I have no problem eating breakfast at home, still like my morning latte habit and lunches are no brainers as long as it’s a salad that’s easy to pack (mason jar salads you are lovely, but still well above my current skill level.)  Dinners were a STRUGGLE, having me spend anywhere from $10-$15 a day depending on where I stopped.  When I took a look at that habit (so adult!) I realized it was less about the food I was stopping for and more about the utter lack of desire to cook.

I decided I’d try to embrace the frozen meal and figured I could chuck some vegetables into a hot oven with a little olive oil and salt and pepper.  I mean, I put them on a pan first, but not much more than that.

I spent $65 for the goods up there and threw an additional $20 on my Starbucks card for the week.  While it’s not quite $70, $85 is waaaaaaaay closer than things have been since I started.

Progress!

Here’s what’s on zee menu!

Breakfasts:  Egg & cheese bagel with fruit
Lunches:  Salads for three days and one day of leftovers
Dinners:  Frozen meal with roasted cauliflower or green beans

In the interest of full disclosure, I have houseguests coming in on Thursday and we’ll be eating out most meals.  This is something I’d like to eventually be able to have a surplus for.  Like tuck aside the money from when I come in under budget maybe.  

Why are you laughing? 

Leave a Reply

