Solo for $70: Week 8

Aaaaaand the grocery store just didn’t happen last week.  I spent about $100 on eating out almost every meal every day.  On the one hand I’m disappointed.  On the other, that’s about half of what I had been spending on weeks like these that just get busy and easily start to spiral.

When life starts picking up, I tend to hunker down.  Cleaning my house doesn’t happen as frequently and meals don’t get made.  I find a comfy place on the couch and spend my little free time there trying to recuperate as best as I can.  Meals turn into whatever is close  and won’t make me feel like a total sloth.

I’ve learned some things about my relationship with food after two months of tracking my spending.  I don’t need as much as I thought I did.  Buying (and therefore, spending!) less makes it easier to keep the kitchen clean and doesn’t feel as overwhelming.  I also notice that eating out is not necessarily a bad thing.  It can often be a way to care for myself when I need a little self care.  I’ve started to make different choices–half sandwiches instead of whole, lighter soups since I’m not very hungry in the evenings and the feeling like there is enough.  There is no need to scarf down everything on my plate when there will always be plenty!

I made it to the store yesterday for the week ahead and look forward to continuing on with my findings.  Constantly honing, assessing, learning and developing.  It feels like the most boring place on the planet around here, but it’s been so interesting to take a closer look at these daily components of my life.

Leave a Reply

